您找過以下的關鍵字

尚無搜尋紀錄

The Association of Small Bombs

The Association of Small Bombs

作者 : Karan Mahajan

出版社 : PENGUIN GROUP (USA) INC.

可訂購

定價 : NT 560

售價9折, NT504

內容簡介


一場恐怖攻擊過後,一切都變了調,不管是人性、政治,或是信仰……

◎《紐約時報》年度十大好書
◎2016年美國國家圖書獎小說類決選名單
◎各界媒體好評推薦:《紐約時報》、《紐約客》、《金融時報》、《華盛頓日報》


1996年,炸彈在印度德里的市場引爆。那是由喀什米爾人策劃的恐怖攻擊,造成庫拉納(Khurana)兄弟因此罹難,他們的朋友曼蘇爾(Mansoor)雖幸運存活,卻身心受創。庫拉納父母持續深陷於失去孩子的哀慟中;曼蘇爾從此封閉心房,將生活重心轉向電腦,意外開啟到美國發展事業的機會。然而,爆炸留下的後遺症,使他的手再也無法打字。他被迫拋下成為程式設計師的未來,回到印度……

本書分別從受害者家屬、倖存者與恐怖分子的觀點,看待恐怖攻擊事件造成的衝擊。不管是庫拉納的父母、不惜訴諸暴力的年輕炸彈製造者、或是內心逐漸出現激進想法的曼蘇爾……一場恐怖攻擊後,一切都不再相同,包括人性、政治與信仰……

National Book Award Finalist
One of the New York Times Book Review’s Ten Best Books of the Year
A Washington Post Notable Fiction Book of 2016
Named a Best Book of 2016 by: Buzzfeed, Esquire, Time magazine, Vulture.com, and PopSugar
Longlisted for the FT/Oppenheimer Emerging Voices Award

“Wonderful. . . . Smart, devastating, unpredictable, and enviably adept in its handling of tragedy and its fallout. If you enjoy novels that happily disrupt traditional narratives—about grief, death, violence, politics—I suggest you go out and buy this one. Post haste.” —Fiona Maazel, The New York Times Book Review

“Brilliant. . . . Mr. Mahajan’s writing is acrid and bracing, tightly packed with dissonant imagery. . . . The Association of Small Bombs is not the first novel about the aftermath of a terrorist attack, but it is the finest I’ve read at capturing the seduction and force of the murderous, annihilating illogic that increasingly consumes the globe.” —Sam Sacks, The Wall Street Journal

“[Mahajan’s] eagerness to go at the bomb from every angle suggests a voracious approach to fiction-making, a daring imaginative promiscuity that moves beyond the scope of his first, very good novel, Family Planning.” —The New Yorker

“[A] beautifully written novel. . . . Ambitious. . . . Carries us deep into the human side of a tragedy.” —The Washington Post

For readers of Mohsin Hamid, Dave Eggers, Arundhati Roy, and Teju Cole, The Association of Small Bombs is an expansive and deeply humane novel that is at once groundbreaking in its empathy, dazzling in its acuity, and ambitious in scope

When brothers Tushar and Nakul Khurana, two Delhi schoolboys, pick up their family’s television set at a repair shop with their friend Mansoor Ahmed one day in 1996, disaster strikes without warning. A bomb—one of the many “small” bombs that go off seemingly unheralded across the world—detonates in the Delhi marketplace, instantly claiming the lives of the Khurana boys, to the devastation of their parents. Mansoor survives, bearing the physical and psychological effects of the bomb. After a brief stint at university in America, Mansoor returns to Delhi, where his life becomes entangled with the mysterious and charismatic Ayub, a fearless young activist whose own allegiances and beliefs are more malleable than Mansoor could imagine. Woven among the story of the Khuranas and the Ahmeds is the gripping tale of Shockie, a Kashmiri bomb maker who has forsaken his own life for the independence of his homeland.
 
Karan Mahajan writes brilliantly about the effects of terrorism on victims and perpetrators, proving himself to be one of the most provocative and dynamic novelists of his generation.
看更多 隱藏