您找過以下的關鍵字

尚無搜尋紀錄

Ways to Disappear

Ways to Disappear

作者 : Idra Novey

出版社 : BACK BAY BOOKS

※ ※ 此商品需調貨,備齊後出貨

可訂購

定價 : NT 560

售價9折, NT504

內容簡介


「2016年最棒的一本書!」
--《全國公共廣播電台》

榮獲2016年布魯克林老鷹文學獎、《紐約時報》編輯選書、2016年邦諾作家精選集

「優雅、引人入勝的故事,劇情發展有如子彈一般神速難以預料。」
--《紐約時報書評》

獻給同樣喜愛羅賓‧史隆《24小時神秘書店》及瑪利亞‧桑波《冏媽的極地任務》的粉絲,作者Idra Novey融合懸疑、浪漫、黑暗及幽默元素的小說處女作

Beatriz Yagoda曾經是巴西炙手可熱的小說家,但高齡60的她幾乎被讀者遺忘。直到一個炎熱的夏日午後,有人目擊她走進里約熱內盧的一座公園中,手提行李廂,叼著雪茄,爬上一顆杏仁樹後就人間蒸發。在寒冷下著雪的匹茲堡,Yagoda的美國譯者Emma聽到這個驚人的消息後,她迫不及待地飛往炎熱黏膩的里約,與作者的兒子及女兒一同尋找Yagoda消失的秘密,同時還得平息她尚未解決的麻煩事,包括她的高利貸債主、還有幾年前開啟Yagoda事業,後來被淘汰的編輯。從此Emma的人生開始了天翻地覆的轉變。

Winner of the 2016 Brooklyn Eagles Literary Prize for Fiction

New York Times Editors' Choice

"An elegant page-turner....Charges forward with the momentum of a bullet."
--New York Times Book Review


For fans of Robin Sloan's Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore and Maria Semple's Where'd You Go, Bernadette, an inventive, brilliant debut novel about the disappearance of a famous Brazilian novelist and the young translator who turns her life upside down to follow her author's trail.

Deep in gambling debt, the celebrated Brazilian writer Beatriz Yagoda is last seen holding a suitcase and a cigar and climbing into an almond tree. She abruptly vanishes.

In snowy Pittsburgh, her American translator Emma hears the news and, against the wishes of her boyfriend and Beatriz's two grown children, flies immediately to Brazil. There, in the sticky, sugary heat of Rio, Emma and her author's children conspire to solve the mystery of Yagoda's curious disappearance and staunch the colorful demands of her various outstanding affairs: the rapacious loan shark with a zeal for severing body parts, and the washed-up and disillusioned editor who launched Yagoda's career years earlier.

Idra Novey's exhilarating debut is both a novel of ideas and a novel of intrigue, an innovative combination of mystery, noir, and humor.
看更多 隱藏