您找過以下的關鍵字

尚無搜尋紀錄

The Luster of Lost Things

The Luster of Lost Things

作者 : Sophie Chen Keller

出版社 : G.P. PUTNAM'S SONS

可訂購

定價 : NT 525

售價79折, NT415

內容簡介


獻給熱愛《深夜小狗神秘習題》與《明天別再來敲門》的忠實讀者
當你以為失去一切,卻意外找到人生最重要的事物

Walter Lavender Jr.有個神秘的能力,就是找回所有遺失的物品。他永遠穿著高領上衣,擅長做熱呼呼的可頌,也是一位等待失蹤父親長達12年的小男孩。

語言障礙使他寡言且經常孤單一人,好在母親迷人可愛的甜點店「薰衣草之家」帶給他如在家中的無限溫暖,那裡有杏仁蛋白軟糖做的恐龍不時噴著火焰,蛋白糖霜餅乾宛如雲朵般在空中飄蕩。雖然他擅長找到遺失的物品,卻始終找不到他失蹤多年的父親,某日店裡的魔法之書消失了,Walter決定帶著他過重的黃金獵犬前往紐約,展開一段尋找之旅,也在這段奇妙的旅途中巧遇各個迷失自我的有趣同伴。一路上他也將發現自己內心深處的渴望,明白什麼才是他真正值得追尋的重要事物。

A fablelike debut for readers of Mark Haddon’s The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and Rebecca Makkai’s The Borrower, in which a boy with an uncanny ability to find lost objects must embark on his most important search yet in order to save his mother’s enchanted dessert shop, the only place he’s ever called home.
 
There’s only one place in the world that lonely twelve-year-old Walter Lavender Jr. feels at home: The Lavenders, his mother’s unusual West Village dessert shop, where meringues scud through displays like clouds, marzipan dragons breathe actual fire, and the airy angel food cake can make customers pounds lighter.

When the mysterious and magical Book at the heart of the shop vanishes and a landlord threatens closure, it’s up to Walter to find the Book and save the shop. Despite—or because of—a communication disorder that renders him speechless and friendless, Walter has a special ability to find lost things. In fact, the only thing he’s failed to find is his father, a pilot lost in a presumed plane crash at sea before Walter was born.

Accompanied by Milton, his best friend and overweight golden retriever, Walter’s quest will take him around and under New York City, into subway tunnels and soaring over Central Park, from bottle collecting in Chinatown to racing through the Met, and introduce him to the extraordinary and forgotten people of this fantastical city. Along the way he will discover his voice and learn what it means to truly be found.
看更多 隱藏