您找過以下的關鍵字

尚無搜尋紀錄

The Rules Do Not Apply: A Memoir

The Rules Do Not Apply: A Memoir

作者 : Ariel Levy

出版社 : Penguin Random House LLC

可訂購

定價 : NT 630

售價79折, NT498

內容簡介


紐約時報最佳暢銷書,獻給同為雪兒‧史翠及瓊‧蒂蒂安的忠實書迷
關於痛失一切及重塑自我的動人回憶錄
《大西洋雜誌》《金融時報》《芝加哥論壇報》《女孩我最大》作者莉娜•丹恩齊聲讚譽

2012年,Ariel Levy為了採訪前往蒙古,當時她已婚且懷孕,擁有幸福及成功的人生。一個月後,她變得一無所有。

Levy帶領你走進她的人生故事,一同經歷一場跳脫傳統及分崩離析的失控旅程。她就和一般同齡的女子一樣,堅守某些傳統規則,例如工作、愛情及活的像個「真正的女人」。在這本動人及刻劃人心的回憶錄中,Levy以自己的文字闡述她人生的冒險及心碎時刻,她認為所有女性都應該獲得選擇人生的自由,而不該受到社會及旁人的限制。透過她的心路歷程,探討身為女性應有的權利及重新獲得對人生的啟發。 

A gorgeous memoir about a woman overcoming dramatic loss and finding reinvention—for readers of Cheryl Strayed and Joan Didion

When thirty-eight-year-old New Yorker writer Ariel Levy left for a reporting trip to Mongolia in 2012, she was pregnant, married, financially secure, and successful on her own terms. A month later, none of that was true.

Levy picks you up and hurls you through the story of how she built an unconventional life and then watched it fall apart with astonishing speed. Like much of her generation, she was raised to resist traditional rules—about work, about love, and about womanhood.

“I wanted what we all want: everything. We want a mate who feels like family and a lover who is exotic, surprising. We want to be youthful adventurers and middle-aged mothers. We want intimacy and autonomy, safety and stimulation, reassurance and novelty, coziness and thrills. But we can’t have it all.”

In this profound and beautiful memoir, Levy chronicles the adventure and heartbreak of being “a woman who is free to do whatever she chooses.” Her own story of resilience becomes an unforgettable portrait of the shifting forces in our culture, of what has changed—and of what is eternal.

Praise for The Rules Do Not Apply

“Levy has the rare gift of seeing herself with fierce, unforgiving clarity. And she deploys prose to match, raw and agile. She plumbs the commotion deep within and takes the measure of her have-it-all generation.”—The Atlantic
 
“[The Rules Do Not Apply] is a short, sharp American memoir in the Mary Karr tradition of life-chronicling. Which is to say that Levy, like Karr, is a natural writer who is also as unsparing and bleakly hilarious as it’s possible to be about oneself. . . . I devoured her story in one sitting.”—Financial Times
 
“It’s an act of courage to hunt for meaning within grief, particularly if the search upends your life and shakes out the contents for all the world to sift through. Ariel Levy embarks on the hunt beautifully in her new memoir.”—Chicago Tribune

“I read it in one big messy gulp, because it is beautiful and heartbreaking and unruly and real. You should preorder it immediately so you can fall into her complicated, funny, and finely wrought world as soon as humanly possible.”—Lenny.com

“A thoroughly modern memoir, the elements of The Rules Do Not Apply seem plucked not from the script of Girls, which has also been exploring reproductive issues of late, but Transparent—even Portlandia.”—The New York Times

“Frank and unflinchingly sincere . . . A gut-wrenching, emotionally charged work of soul-baring writing in the spirit of Joan Didion, Helen Macdonald, and Elizabeth Gilbert, The Rules Do Not Apply is a must-read for women.”—Bustle

“Unflinching and intimate, wrenching and revelatory, Ariel Levy’s powerful memoir about love, loss, and finding one’s way shimmers with truth and heart on every page.”—Cheryl Strayed

“Every deep feeling a human is capable of will be shaken loose by this profound book. Ariel Levy has taken grief and made art out of it.”—David Sedaris

“Ariel Levy is a writer of uncompromising honesty, remarkable clarity, and surprising humor gathered from the wreckage of tragedy. Her account of life doing its darnedest to topple her, and her refusal to be knocked down, will leave you shaken and inspired. I am the better for having read this book.”—Lena Dunham
看更多 隱藏